What “50 Shades of Grey” did to Black People?

I regret to inform my readers yes,  all 3 of you, that I myself have clinged to the notion that, “I do not read for fun”. Its something I have always believed, and thanks to graduate school with its literary boot on my neck, reading is still on my list of least favorite things to do. I say all that to say, I did not and probably won’t read “50 Shades of Grey” but like all non readers like myself, I am keeping up with all details on the movie production. In any case, this article is just an outward expression of my gratitude for this amazing piece of art.  You guys may or may not know However despite my lack of motivation to actually read the book, I have been invited to join the many, many, conversations about the love story and of course the SEX! Like a mother seeing her child walk for the first time, my excitement over people’s intrigue by this sexual fetish known as BDSM is unmatched. I am thoroughly excited when people of different cultures are exposed to things otherwise categorized as #ShitWeDontDo, and for black people, that means #ShitWhitePeopleDo. I’m not saying black people weren’t doing it before “50 Shades of Grey”, I’m sure they were but based on my observation, BDSM was extracted in very small bits and pieces, maybe some handcuffs, Booty slapping but nothing too crazy. I noticed this when everytime I would bring it up sexual acts and the immediate, I just ate a sour lemon face would surround my excited presentation. I realize that everyone has a comfort level with all things but as a therapist in training, it’s important for me to encourage people to open their eyes to a WHOLE new world. I am thankful that “50 Shades of Grey” has opened the conversation of sexual exploration. People have no idea the experiences that await them outside their comfort zone, it’s a rush in itself to just try something new but I’d you like it ! God help you, your life has just made room for another thing that brings you pleasure. So this is just my Thank You to “50 Shades of Grey” for making my job as a future Sex Therapist easier. ! *Salutes*

Share Your Thoughts

